PART TWO: Spider Diagrams

For this exercise I made spider diagrams for the following words. The black ink is my writing, the pink pencil is my friend’s writing; after having seen my work, she then expanded upon it with her own ideas. For the purpose of this exercise we will call her Friend A. Friend A and I discussed the topics whilst they added their own interpretations to my previous work until the page was filled.

scan037scan036scan035scan034

Somethings that surprised me…

I am surprised that I found CHILDHOOD the easiest to complete as I felt this was the most personal and one subject that I often have trouble recalling any details from, yet, once I got the ball rolling I found it incredibly easy to come up with lots of detailed examples and images from my own childhood, mostly examples that I found personally amusing.

Which word was most difficult to work with and why I think that was…

I was surprised how difficult I found to complete FESTIVAL and ANGER, probably because I struggled to find such personal links to either of these topics. I’m not an avid festival go-er or a particularly angry person, so these felt more like abstract concepts to me.

Evidently Film seems to be my go-to place for imagery and recognisable tropes for insights into worlds and scenarios I am not necessarily familiar with. This can also be seen throughout my OCA blog so far (through my use of additional images to support my writing)… so maybe this is something for me to be more aware of.

The following spider diagrams are put together by another friend of mine. Let’s call them, Friend B.

scan040scan039

The two diagrams above are purposefully separate to my own Spider Diagrams, because I wanted to see what Friend B would come up with when given the same instructions me, but without having my work as a reference point, unlike Friend A.

Friend B’s differed to mine was similarly (seemingly) personal like mine, but far less detailed. When I am told to ‘find all the information I can’ on a subject, I tend to go a little overboard and do just that. I find ALL of it. Friend B was far more conservative; once they had covered a subject with a few words, they moved onto something else.

The strategy that suited me best to generate the most words was…

Finding something personal to use as a jumping off point, then linking from there until no more links could be drawn and moving onto a similar topic. Finding things that amused me, and spiraling out from there. For those subjects that I struggled with, my first point of reference is usually Film or TV, then Books, then a Google image search, although the latter was not that useful and tended to focus mostly on landscapes or colours.

All in all, this was far more interesting and revealing than I initially thought it would be.

 

Leave a Reply

